Tullibardine has a rich history for brewing and distilling and is one of the oldest in Scotland receiving the first Royal Charter in 1503 for their beer from James IV.
Tullibardine is situated near the Ochil Hills which provide the fresh spring water used in the distillery. It takes 15 years for the water to reach the Danny Burn which is where both Tullibardine and Highland Spring draw their water from. In 1947 the original brewery buildings were converted in to a distillery and the first spirit was distilled in the newly named Tullibardine Distillery in 1949. The name means 'lookout hill' - taken from the small medieval chapel close to the distillery. Tullibardine began a new chapter in its history in November 2011 when the distillery was purchased by an independent family company already involved in the Whisky Industry.